I Hated the Story of Abraham†

Is it really okay to kill your son if you think god told you to? Why do we celebrate his act in primary school?

The story of Abraham really used to make me question faith,  from childhood. I hated this story as a child maybe because I was a child too. I mean whenever a person watches a movie or hears a story, it is natural for them to place themselves in that story. giving  themselves a point of view within that scene. Probably why in great films like harry potter for instance. They star an ordinary boy who turns out to be extraordinary. It’s just amazing how comfortably my school teachers told me a father laid his son down like meat for slaughter just because of a voice in his head. Maybe I’m different but as a kid, I received that as my first horror movie. I couldn’t help but think how I almost died because of my fathers questionable priorities, his participation in a game God decided to play and because I was too weak as a child to runaway or fully understand my fathers intentions. Indeed this was horror to me but my teachers delivered it with smiles. Concentrating on the faith behind this act and making him sound heroic. I always wondered; What if God didn’t stop him, what opinion would we then have of God. What if it wasn’t even God in his head. Why was he being faithful to something telling him to kill his son. Where was his love for the son. Was it really faith or just fear and cowardice. Wouldn’t we also praise him if he had said no. Wasn’t ‘no’ the right answer. Was it okay to kill as long as you think God told you to do it….. ‘??????????????????’ to all of these questions that shot through me

I didn’t see him as a man of faith but a weak man who followed instructions. I never understood why this was looked at as model behaviour. I shoved those feelings under the rug cos I was also a kid following instructions. My teachers were never wrong and their smiling meant there’s probably an explanation and I just didn’t understand.

I see this clip and realise nothing has changed. I have always felt the same way about this story and some other stories too. They ain’t the same but this clip paints the same picture for me till this day. God/book giveth joy and God/book taketh but have faith and follow him no matter what direction he’s going. I mean this clip didn’t create this feeling  at all but inspired me to write about it.
I dunno maybe i need to sit with someone on this topic who can explain to me why this is okay. At the moment I feel like we are told these messy stories as kids so that by the time we are independent thinkers it would be so normal to us that we don’t question them objectively because it semi worked on me for a while. I questioned it but still shoved it under the rug. I wonder how others felt about this story as kids.

This entry was posted in Am just saying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

